The 2013 Room Share Post

It's time again for our annual room-share blog. This is the place for you to find roommates to share your hotel room at this year's conference.

Even if you're not sharing, this is your reminder to book soon using our group rate for best prices and in-room internet included. The room rate will be available for about another week, so don't delay!

You'll find hotel booking information here:

If you're hoping to find someone to share your room expenses with, please feel free to use the comment section below to try to connect with a kindred spirit. We suggest you post whether you have a room booked or are looking to share costs with someone who does, what's important to you in a roommate (ie M/F, early-to-bed or early riser, etc.), and whether you snore loudly.

As always, please do your homework. We provide this comment trail for your convenience, but we don't know many of the people who post and we do not get involved in this process. Roommate arrangements are made at your own risk.

That being said, lots of great new friendships have been started in this very thread in past years. Save money and meet new people. Sounds like a good plan to us!



I'm a writer from the Squamish, BC area and I'll be staying at the Sheraton on Friday and Saturday night. I booked a room with an extra queen bed just in case someone wants to share.

I've shared rooms at conferences before and always have good experiences with my roommates.

I will have to force myself to stay out at the evening events since I'm generally shy in crowds. I'm quiet in the morning. I prefer not to have the TV on in the room.

The room rate with taxes is $142. I'd love to go half with a roommate.

Contact me offline at "info at donnabarker dot com".


Looking for another female author, morning riser, non-snorer,non-smoker, minimal drinker to share my double queen room at the Sheraton during the SIWC.

It's already booked from Thursday to Sunday at the $149 rate. I'm coming to attend seminars, make contacts, garner and give tips on self publishing, sell my two books and pack as much into a day as one can.

Send request to

If I can find someone to share their room with me at this late date, I'd drive down from Salmon Arm on Saturday afternoon, for one night. Non-smoker, mature female, early to bed and early to rise (7:00 am). I don't think I snore loudly.